The Santa Conspiracy

Recently my online mothers group were discussing Christmas and specifically would you lie to your child about Santa? There was a unanimous answer of heck yes!

I have been mulling the question over in my head since then. At the time I replied with I didn’t see it as lying but encouraging your child’s imagination. Also how is it wrong to use Santa as a way of teaching children about the values of Christmas such as charity, love, happiness, family,empathy, and good will (amongst others)? Because lets face it you can’t believe in Santa with out all the rest of Christmas with him….he IS Christmas, and everything that goes with it. I still stand by my statement, my son will learn about Santa and Christmas as being real.

Now I know some would argue “but you can teach your child those values with out Santa”, and yes I would agree, but at the same time it is so much easier to use Santa as a teaching tool, a mascot if you will. It is no coincidence that organisations, businesses, sports teams, and charities have mascots to sell their messages. It works. So as a teaching tool you don’t get much better than Santa who has proven to be an effective way of teaching children the values of Christmas for centuries.

But really for me I do not see anything wrong with my little monkey believing in Santa. I want him to know magic in his life, and I don’t mean magic like wizards and hocus pocus, but magic in the wonderment a child has thinking that ANYTHING is possible. It would be nice to be able to believe whole heartedly as an adult that a big jolly fat man in a suit can ride flying reindeer in one night delivering presents to good kids. Because if that is possible anything is possible.

So I think this argument boils down to one simple saying. Are you a glass half empty or half full kind of person? If you’re a glass empty type person then of course you are going to see all the negative connotations associated with Christmas and Santa, but if you are a glass half full kind of person you will see the best. I am not sure there is a right answer but I am going to (as my fellow online mummy said during this discussion) “lie my ass off”. I want my child to know the magic that is Christmas and Santa.

 

Leave a Reply

