The evolution of the immune system

Before I had my baby I had a kick ass immune system. For at least 15 odd years I barely got a sniffle let alone sick. I can count on my hand the amount of sick days I took from work; in case you were wondering (as I am totally convinced you were) it was a grand total of 4 days and one of those was for twisting my ankle falling off a dodgy ladder. I was proud of my healthy immune system that kept me more healthy than an astronaut about to go into space, while other people at work would drop like flies.

So imagine my shock when over the last year (since returning to work full-time) I have taken about 10 days off work sick, and I mean really sick, like cant-get-out-of-bed-I-am -going-to-die sick. I have had three sinus infections and just recently severe gastro. I have to confess it really pisses me off actually. Which is irrational I know but there it is.

So why? why is this so? well I don’t have any scientific or concrete answer, just theories and anecdotal evidence. Bear with me.

Now the first cab of the rank reason I am given is “but your child is in day care, they bring home all kinds of nasties no wonder your sick“. Ok I accept and agree with this up to a point. Anywhere children exist, disease seems to thrive and run rampant. That is a fact no one is disputing it.  Children and disease go together like strawberries and cream.

But how does that effect me? I have been through school, I did my time picking up germs and disease. I suffered through chicken pox and all those things there are now vaccinations for so surely now as an adult my immune system wouldn’t even flinch at anything other than the ever mutating cold? That’s fair right?

Wrong. Now this isn’t scientific but I have begun to believe that the longer away from bugs and nasties we spend, the less immunity you have. So in essence like your child’s, your immunity is starting from scratch. It’s relearning how to cope with all those nasties your kids bring home.

Well that’s my theory and until someone else can tell me otherwise I am going with it.

I guess its one of those things about motherhood you never quite get told about before hand, and I am just going to have to adjust my thinking to the fact that, gone are the days of having an iron clad immune system are long gone. At least till my son moves out of home and stops bringing them home!

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. stacybuckeye
    Oct 19, 2011 @ 12:17:48

    Too funny. Gage isn’t in day care, but I haven’t had any more sickness-maybe less. I hear that if your kid is in day care they will bring home germs to mommy early, but once they are older they will have better immunity.
    Not sure what hthis does for you 🙂

    Reply

    • Caspette
      Oct 20, 2011 @ 15:21:35

      Until little monkey went to day care we were both fine, I didn’t get sick at all. But since i have returned to work and thus he has been at day care it has been quite a bit of sickness. Most of it is so mild it barely warrants a mention but some just knock you sideways. We are lucky our day care is really strict on illness and is on top of it straight away. I hear other day care centres just have bad illness’s running rampant through them.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

