Where does all the time go?

Ever since becoming a mum, there just isn’t enough hours in the day for everything that needs to be done. Cleaning, cooking, gardening, surfing the net, blogging, chatting to friends, checking emails, reading, family commitments and socializing; all jostle for attention of your time. I don’t think you ever really understand that statement until you have a child and or children. Also having been on both sides of the fence it doesn’t seem to matter if you are a stay at home mum or a career worker both roles don’t have enough time.

Often I hear myself and my other mummy friends bemoan not being able to get various stuff done, for various reasons. Lets say blogging, it just doesn’t get done as much as I would like and I LOVE blogging. But the reality is I get home from work, I have to cook, clean, prepare my little monkey for bed, spend quality time with the family, and then go to bed myself. This is before I can do anything “me time” related. I feel sometimes like I am failing, like something has to suffer or be ignored, sometimes it is house chores, but frequently it is something I enjoy doing like blogging. So this makes me a sad panda.

I tried reading up on time management skills. Perhaps I was missing something or there was something I could do better. I love schedules and I used to be the Queen of time management. What I found was none of it works. The reality is time management flies right out the window when a young baby or toddler is involved. Now even my best laid plans can explode spectacularly in my face when my child is happy let alone sad/angry/sick/tantruming.

That’s on a good day. What about when you are thrown a curve ball like a work function, family/friends gathering, accident, birthday party, and so on. Those events, even if you are just rocking up and sitting down, can really throw you out of whack even if it is planned for.

Even when you do get it right and everything is going according to plan it can all go spectacularly wrong. You will probably recognise this scenario; You are feeling satisfied from mopping your entire house, you have put everything away, then walk into your living room and behold the vision your budding Picasso has just crayoned (if your lucky) all over the living room floor, and the sinking feeling you have when you know you have to start ALL OVER again.

At the moment the only way I can get most things done is to prioritise tasks into daily, weekly, monthly, six monthly, yearly etc etc. I have also learned to chill a little in regards to the rigid nature of my routines and face the fact that I cant do everything at once. I also I dedicate time and schedule it in for “me” time because it is still important. Sometimes I cheat and sometimes get stuff done at work in my lunch break, but mostly I just allocate blocks of time to do my chores and fun things.

So in short find a system that works for you. Don’t listen to anyone else who says you are doing it wrong. If they come over and complain about your dust for example, calmly hand them the duster and say “if you have a problem with it, you deal with it”. I bet they will stop complaining toot sweet. Your child is only a baby/toddler for a short time, enjoy them while you can and save the kitchen reorganisation for another day. Finally, dont forget to make sure you get in some of the things you love doing. This is perhaps the most important of all as a happy mummy (or daddy the same applies to them) is a happy family.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Betsy
    Aug 16, 2011 @ 20:53:27

    I totally agree! My home may not be as clean as it was before I had my son, but I have a happy kid and in the end that is all that matters!

    Reply

  2. stacybuckeye
    Aug 17, 2011 @ 12:42:01

    Great post! I feel you pain. After Gage goes to bed is the only time I get anything done-cleaning, blogging, laundry, paying bills, emails… So when he has a night when he cries for an hour and half and just must sleep with mommy and daddy then nothing gets done. I’ve also learned to not schedule too much or worry about getting places on time 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

