I Survived the First Week of Daycare

My Mouse began attending daycare  this week.  I was able to stay home with her for several weeks, and once I went back to work, her father took time off to be with her.  We both would have liked to have spent more time with her but financially it just wasn’t possible.

Early on in my pregnancy, we found a daycare provider for Mouse.  We researched homes, interviewed caretakers and completed background checks.  We settled on a daycare close to my workplace–one that had received glowing reviews from a coworker and friend who had been using the daycare for about five years.  I felt confident about our choice.

And I still do.  Miss C. has been wonderful.  The first day she called me throughout the day to give me updates.  She has since sent me photos and text messages on a regular basis, reassuring me that Mouse is doing well.  She once was in my shoes and knows how difficult it can be for a mother entering back into the work force, leaving her baby for the first time.

That first day I cried.  Heck, I cried the entire weekend before (off and on).  I saved my crying for private, weeping in the car after I left her after lunch.  My husband drops her off in the mornings, saving me that agony.  But in the afternoons, when I go to nurse her, saying goodbye is so hard.  I cried again the second day.  The third day I cried a little less.  And the fourth day when I began to cry, I bought myself a Dairy Queen Blizzard.  I probably should have just bought a book.

I don’t have family nearby who can care for her, and, honestly, I like the idea of her having other children to interact with, something she wouldn’t get if Grandma was watching her.  Her daycare provider is big on play and development so I know Mouse is being stimulated.  She actually is doing quite well.  She has a fairly good temperament and seems to be adjusting without any difficulty.  It’s only mommy and daddy who are having a hard time of it.

The first time I saw Mouse smile and squeal for Miss C. I felt jealous.  That smile and squeal are meant only for me!  I reminded myself I should be glad Mouse is bonding with her daycare provider.  This is the woman who is helping me raise my child.  I want Mouse to feel safe and secure with her.  As this first week comes to a close I feel even more confident in my husband’s and my choice.

I know there will be other moments when I feel those pangs of jealousy–it’s inevitable–but as long as my little girl is happy and getting the care she needs, I can get past it.  After all, she has only one mommy–and that’s me.

Be sure and read about Caspette & her son’s first day experience at daycare here.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. caspette
    Jun 25, 2011 @ 17:50:42

    Mouse will develop a special smile just for you when you pick her up. Little Monkey becomes insanely happy and races across the day care to us. We have also observed him watching the door around the time we are due.

    There seems to be a different set of rules for baby at day care and baby at home. For instance little monkey eats heaps for his carers at day care, but for us he eats very little.

    Eventually you will both adjust, and it does get easier, but it does take awhile. Took me a good 6 months before I would stop panicking or thinking every 5 seconds “is he ok?”

    Reply

  2. stacybuckeye
    Jun 28, 2011 @ 12:11:39

    I’m with Gage all day long and have to work for the smiles I get. Daddy comes home from work and he’s all grins and giggles! Sometimes the time apart makes them appreciate you more 🙂
    Sounds like you are all three doing well with the adjustment.

    Reply

  3. Erin
    Feb 02, 2012 @ 13:42:18

    Oh that was great! I had to read the part about dairy queen to my husband – so hilarious. That’s exactly what I would do, and exactly where I would go. My 7 week old son will start day care later this month and I know I’ll be a sobbing mess for atleast the first week. Heck – I’ve been sobbing about it since the day he was born! I’ve also worried about those jealous feelings like when he giggles for someone else or bonds with someone else – guess I need to get over that quickly!

    Reply

  4. Literary Feline
    Feb 03, 2012 @ 01:41:52

    Erin – My heart goes out to you. Big hugs! It is hard and I still sometimes find myself getting teary-eyed leaving her, although it is much easier now than it was in the beginning. Unfortunately, the jealous feelings don’t go away. Mouse took her first steps in December at daycare and even though my husband and I agreed that hitting milestones don’t counts unless she does it for one of us, it still stung a bit. Just the same, I don’t let it get to me.

    Dairy Queen is a good soother for just about anything! LOL Congratulations on the birth of your son!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

