Child First Aid

first-aid-signAbout a month ago I finally got my act together and did a first aid course.  I’d always been a bit intimidated by the thought of doing one, but knew it was an important thing to do.  Having a baby was just the added incentive that I needed.  Having done it, I am extremely glad I did it, and highly recommend it for those who have never done one before or would like a refresher.  I feel like I will have at least some clue should an emergency arise, and if nothing else, it makes me a little less nervous when my daughter gags and splutters while learning to eat solids.

Some of the ladies from my mothers’ group and I did it through a company called Child Revive First Aid.  They run courses in Melbourne, both for private groups at a location of your choice, and for the public at Mothercare Highpoint or Knox.  The basic first aid class goes for 2.5hrs (with a break) and is $45.  It covered CPR (with practical component), how to identify an emergency and what to do, choking, drowning and febrile seizures.  The course is focussed on baby and child first aid, but most of the concepts can be applied to adults too.  The instructors are practising paramedics so they are up to date and know what they are talking about.  Amanda at Child Revive First Aid was very accommodating when trying to organise our group.

Sorry for being a bit late with this, but I think if you subscribe to their newsletter by the end of tomorrow (1st June), you can go into a draw to win a double pass to a course.  Good luck!

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Caspette
    Jun 01, 2011 @ 18:17:07

    I’ve been meaning to sign up for one but for some obscure reason they are run out of town 30 mins away by St Johns and they are all day courses. It was just to hard to get too. But I need to make it a priority I really do! Glad you got so much out of the course.

    Reply

  2. stacybuckeye
    Jun 04, 2011 @ 23:07:48

    My husband did one when I was recovering from my c-section. Thanks for the reminder that I still need to do it too!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

