Farewell Old Sleeping Habits, You Served Me Well

I used to wonder why after all these years of my parents not having kids at home, they would still get up at 5am? I was honestly baffled, surely after 20 odd years of raising your children you would be entitled to a sleep in? Or stay up till midnight raging? I’ve now come to the conclusion its because they had 20 years of training.

Before I had a baby I thought nothing of staying up till midnight and getting up at 6am for work the next day. Likewise during the weekend I never had a problem staying up all night and sleeping all day. But now after having my baby I have discovered a tiredness i have never known before. It’s not the same tiredness you experience those crazy few months of having a new born, when your eyeballs are hanging out of your head, you put your mobile in the fridge, and perfect the zombie vacant look and walk. But it is a constant tiredness that ebbs and wanes in strength. But it basically boils down to I am lucky to be awake past 10pm, and I sleep in (when I get to) till 7am.

No kidding I am giddy with excitement if I sleep in till 7am. Seriously if I wake up and the clock says 7am I am as happy as a puppy who has spotted its toy ball. It is the best sleep in ever! At night you could almost set your clock by me as I fall asleep where I sit/lay at 10pm on the dot. Luckily hubby is awake to care for the little monkey, well I assume he was awake and caring for little monkey. Little monkey could have been swinging from the ceiling fan, colouring the cats in with fluro texter’s, or speaking fluent Japanese and commenting on the news channels top stories, and  I would never have known.

So I figure by the time my son is 20 and if I am lucky leaving home, I would have 20 years under my belt of going to bed by 10pm and being awake by 7am. I suspect my days of staying up late and sleeping in till 10am are LONG gone.

So farewell old sleeping habits, you served me well when I was young and child free. Greetings new sleeping habits, I’m sure you will serve me well.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Rainbowg
    May 18, 2011 @ 18:49:55

    Completely get where you are coming from. I’ve always been a night bird and a loved my sleep ins on weekends (and sometimes even on work days!)… nowadays I’m usually up around 7am, 8am if I’m lucky or 6am if I’m unlucky. Trouble is I’m having difficulty adjusting my bedtime, I still like being up late… as a result I’m just tired all the time.

    Reply

  2. stacybuckeye
    May 23, 2011 @ 12:30:48

    I find that the only time I get to read/blog is after Gage goes to bed. So I make it a goal to be in bed by midnight. He gets be up between 6 and 7:30. But I still take an hour or two nap with him in the afternoon. Once that ends I’ll have to get the extra sleep somewhere else 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

