What I have Learned In A Year

I recently read a post on my fellow bloggers page where she discussed what she had learned in her first 6 months of mother hood (please check her out at Stacy’s Books). I thought to myself this might be a fun thing to do for myself now being just over a year since I became a mum and had to learn the hard way (as we all do) how to raise a child. So I thought I would list some of the things I have learned:

      • Yes there is poo/vomit/wee/food/unknown substance on/in my hair/clothes/hand/seat, so what?
      • You can survive on sugar and caffeine (Thanks Stacy for that one!).
      • You do adjust to lack of sleep. Heck I now consider four hours IN A ROW to be bloody good.
      • You learn to doge projectile poo/wee/vomit.
      • My reflexes are like a ninjas now. I reach speeds I didn’t know existed.
      • Eddie Murphy’s skit about his mother’s hearing (and subsequently boomerang shoes) in Delirious, I now realise is not just a funny skit. It was a true account! my hearing is now bionic.
  • I am constantly amazed at my child’s ability to find the one thing in the room he is not meant too.
  • No matter how much you baby proof you probably haven’t done enough.
  • This is the one time in your life someone doesn’t think you are a bad singer so sing it up!
  • Your life and how you view life will change forever.
  • There is nothing worse than a sick baby.
  • You learn to live with always feeling guilty because no matter what you do you are doing it wrong in someones eyes.
  • Not to give a rat a** what anyone else thinks, as long as my partner and I are happy with our child rearing decisions then that is all that matters.
  • What works for one baby probably wont work for another.
  • With out fail if you say something stupid to some one in public like “my baby never…..” said baby will then proceed do what ever it is they don’t normally do.
  • Most house chores can wait.
  • Hearing your baby laugh has to be one of the best moments ever, and never grows old.
  • What you think your baby will like, baby will probably ignore. Random thing like a box however will entertain your baby for days.
  • Just when you think you have it all worked out your baby changes and you have to learn again.
2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. stacybuckeye
    Apr 24, 2011 @ 00:38:14

    Awesome list of what’s yet in store for me! Gage isn’t really mobile yet (he HATES the floor) but it is time we started to baby proof the house since anything he touches go directly into his mouth. And I sound terrible when I sing, but Gage doesn’t care. Isn’t that a good son?

    Reply

    • caspette
      Apr 24, 2011 @ 17:45:09

      He is a good boy! I am sure you will learn lots of interesting things in the next 6 months 🙂

      After years of NEVER singing in public, heck even hubby barely heard me it took me ages to get over that hurdle but now I sing (very badly) all the time. My poor son is probably never going to be able to shut me up.

      I think I should add to the list wet wipes….how did I live with out them?

      Reply

Leave a Reply

