Baby Sign Language

I have recently come across a method of communicating with your baby called baby sign language. I have a vague memory of one of my online mum friends mentioning it previously but I never really paid attention. Why did it suddenly strike a chord with me? not entirely sure. Maybe it was just right place right time now.

So when I got home I googled it and quickly came across a whole swathe of information. This is a lot bigger then I had thought. Especially considering not one baby book I have read even hinted at it let alone discussed it.

So what is baby sign language I hear you say? well it is exactly what you think. It is teaching your baby to communicate using basic sign language. I have not yet determined if it is different from country to country or if it is universal. It’s hard to know for sure as there seems to be different “programs” so hard to know which is just the different program and which is an international thing. The websites I have looked at would suggest it is more local based as one said it used Auslan (Australian Sign Language) for its signs.

The signs seem to play to the natural actions babies do anyway. I got a “free” poster which had four signs on them, and two our son is already doing on his own accord.

There seems to be reference on the net to studies that prove baby sign language is extremely beneficial to babies in terms of helping them develop language skills and their IQ levels. The main research I can see however seems to have been conducted by the creators of one of the programs, so I am a little dubious of it partiality.

In case you did’t guess I remain skeptical. But I am of a suspicious mind anyway and I am a firm believer in if it sounds to good to be true it probably is.As I write this I could only find the “offical” company websites which naturally have glowing testimonies. Which lets face it, companies never have a bad review on their websites. So I am going to go to the library tomorrow and borrow the book on baby sign language the library website claims it has.

I will cautiously step into the world of baby sign language and see if my son takes to the first five signs we give him. If that works I will move on to more signs. We figure it can’t hurt to try to teach our son sign language and maybe, just maybe, at the very least he will develop a skill which will help him later in life. Either way I promise to keep you posted!

I am keen to hear from any one who has tried baby sign language and how they fared.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Rainbowg
    Apr 10, 2011 @ 10:35:15

    The only one we have used so far is a sign for bathtime, and it always seems to get our daughter excited as far back as 3 months or even before. I think for some simple things, for example eat/food or drink it can be really handy, as it takes away some of the frustration our babies have when they can’t communicate with us.

    Reply

    • caspette
      Apr 12, 2011 @ 19:58:44

      I agree the little man certainly responds well to eat, drink and bath signals.

      The signal seems to be easier for them to grasp then the word, or makes the word easier for them to understand.

      The jury is still out for us but we keep plugging away. Will see how we do 🙂

      Reply

  2. Bryan I. Schwartz
    Apr 25, 2011 @ 06:00:29

    We started this with our third child and wished we had started with our first. The signing made a large difference in the lack of frustration which was evident in trying to understand our baby before she can speak. We really see the difference is the comprehension when she did learn to speak. We attribute this in some part to the signing we did with her early on. It gave her a better apprecation for understanding through communication forms.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

