A day in the life of a Mum

I am a dedicated Mum,a shop-a-holic,  a fanatic cleaner, a social butterfly and a Registered Nurse.

I have a girlfriend who is a dedicated Mum, and a relaxer.

Which i think is wonderful. I would love to be able to squeeze a nap or a movie into my day, but i can’t, between everything else i have to do my schedule just doesn’t extend to fit in a nap.

Except – I dont want to made to feel guilty for needing to juggle so many things and not get to nap.

As Mummy’s we are so good at making others feel inferior for not doing things in the way that we do. For example i would love to be a stay at home mum, but i also love that a few days a week i get to go and use my degree and prevent my brain from melting. My son loves the social interaction of childcare and as he only goes for four hours a day i see it as a win win.

My friend was telling me the other day that her life is so busy that without her nap she would cease to function and i am not the best mother i could be because i have too much on my plate.

She wrote down for me what her day looks like so that i may alter my own to match hers. (Nice, huh?)

0730 – Wake and breakfast for her and bub

0900 – Bub to bed – Mum to rest – movie, internet, facebook

1100 – Bub Wakes – lunch / social outting.

1430 – Bub to bed, Mum to nap

1630 – Mum and Bub Wake.

1830 – Dinner

1900 Bed for Bub

1900 – Mum and Dad Time.

I read this email absolutely gobsmacked.  I had no idea how to respond, and i think i typed something along the line of  – Thanks, I’ll look into it. But it really did make me think about my days and the amount that i cram into them – plus what a luxury it would be if i too had a cleaner so that i could have two hours rest and a two hour nap!!

After thinking on this for a while, I got mad. Not – you have slightly irked me and i put up with alot from you, but i want to drive to your place, kidnap you and introduce you to the real world rage. I mean we all have our own routine and yours is neither better or worse than mine, just different. And who-the-bloody-hell-do-you-think-you-are-to-tell me how to-run-my-life???

So i drafted a response (one that i ultimately didnt send, but it made me giggle when i read it a few days later, so i thought i would share!!)

Hi There,

I have been thinking about your day plan that you sent me and thought maybe you may have some suggestions on how to improve on mine as you are obviously the new police force on Mummy Nap Time. So i guess basically i would love a response on how best to fit a nap into my day.

My Day

0630 – Run though a shower, eat my breakfast and quick tidy up.

0730 – Bub Up for the day, bottle, breakfast and play time with mummy.

0900 – Bub naptime routine, run around like a mad woman getting the house clean, work clothes ironed, daycare bag packed, paying bills, responding to business emails, occasional social visit, washing, returning social calls and making self look presentable to leave house.

1100 – Bub Wakes, early lunch for us both, pack car, dress bub for the day.

1200 – Leave for work / childcare, settle bub in, get to work without appearing too flustered

1300 – Shift starts, deal with whining  / dying patients, call childcare to ensure bub’s happiness, complete mandatory training and related homework, attend meetings, deliver best possible care, occasional need to perform CPR / counselling / de-escalation procedures. Spend 10 minute dinner break calling mother (otherwise she assumes i am dead) and stuffing down food.Attempt to get out on time – 2130.

2230 – Get home, shower, straighten hair, put a load of baby food in slow cooker so i can blend the following morning. Check business emails, package items, check on sleeping bubba, marvel at how perfect he is.

0000 – roll into bed.

So as you can see my life is pretty well jam packed and the time that my child is awake I spend the time painting, making necklaces, pulling faces in the mirror or any number of activities. As i really do believe that my child deserves quality time with both parents and shouldn’t have to independently play so that i can sit on facebook, when he is asleep.

And quite frankly you can go jump!

Cato

As you can see, probably not the most appropriate response, but it did make me feel slightly less homicidal!!

I would love to know how you would have dealt with this!!

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. cookwithkids
    Apr 04, 2011 @ 19:14:00

    I believe that we should not judge other mothers, there are so many pressures on being a good mother/wife/cook/teacher/multi-tasker/or whatever else that we don’t need to put any more pressure on each other. We all do what we need to do to get through the day and whatever that is its what works for us and our families.

    Reply

  2. Rainbowg
    Apr 10, 2011 @ 10:49:39

    Wow. I feel mad for you! Sounds like you are a super mum and your child is happy and thriving. We all have different circumstances and can’t expect that the same routine works for everyone. I’m just about to go back to work next month, and imagine trying to juggle work with everything else is going to be a challenge. In the meantime, there are too many more exciting things to do in life than sleep the days away! ;P

    Reply

Leave a Reply

