The Joy of Learning

The other day as I was walking out the front door to the car, I turned to close the door. I looked over at my son, and saw he was waving at me. Not only was he waving he was making a buh buh noise. Ok not quite bye bye and a wave but getting damn close, and by parent bragging rights a home run scored!

This is now a regular thing for each morning. My partner or I go to the car to put all the bags in and our son stands there waving and saying buh buh. The intent is clearly there, but delivery not so much. He now has that association because it’s the only time he will do it without prompting.

I have slowly come to the realization that watching your child grow and learn has to be one of the best experiences in life. It is just a joy to watch them work things out and discover their joy at learning new skills. Even the terrifying milestones like learning to climb up on to the roof, or falling from said roof. All are learning experiences which shape, form and define us. Is it any wonder why parents all think their children are geniuses and gloat and preen proudly to other parents about their little one’s latest development?

Being a part of your child’s life as they go from this sleeping, eating, pooping lump to a walking, talking, mini human is amazing. Something I never fully appreciated till I had a child. Previously I used to think human evolution was the one thing it had stuffed up, I mean it takes years for a child to be able to function even remotely by its self. Compare that to say a monkey and we look positively stupid. But now I realize that humans have so MUCH to develop, things we take for granted like walking and talking, but stuff that for a baby takes a lot of time and effort.

I must confess though I still think evolution stuffed up a little bit. For starters why is it a good idea that a baby sticks every god-forsaken-thing in its mouth? Seriously think about it, surely that is a trait that could have gone down the same road as the dinosaurs and died out. I don’t see the value at all. Evolution needs to have a sit down and say “you’re fired” to putting everything in your mouth trait. But I digress.

This phase in your child’s life, the 0-5 phase where they are learning, doing, and growing so much, is probably the main reason working parents feel like they are “missing out”. It can literally be a blink and you miss it situation. One minute laying still the next sitting, one minute saying gibberish the next “yo mamma” pops out. But we have found a way around that. We decided until we witness it ourselves we don’t count any new development as a first. It is just a practice run.

However my tune may very well change once my son hits two. Might not find things so wonderous then in the middle of an A grade super sized melt down.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. stacybuckeye
    Apr 02, 2011 @ 11:51:18

    Gage at 5 months am I’m just recently seeing him work stuff out. He’s not necessarily doing a while lot more but he is most definitely more aware. And, yes, except for your son I think he’s the smartest there is 🙂

    Reply

  2. Rainbowg
    Apr 10, 2011 @ 10:54:19

    It is exciting, isn’t it?! And it seems to be an exponential phenomenon. I’m finding the older she gets the more wonder and fun there is to be had, and it’s all going too fast for me! Funny how when they do ordinary things that we do and take for granted every day it’s so damn cute!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

