Breast and Bottle–Mixing It Up

 

bottlefeeder

At the beginning I had every intention of primarily breast feeding, and then expressing regularly so that Dad could share in the feeding experience.  There was also the potential benefit of being able to leave baby with a sitter/relative.  It just never really happened – laziness, never knowing exactly when to express, worrying about having enough milk to express, expressing enough, laziness – and I am regretting it now.

The first couple times we tried feeding with a bottle, in the first couple of months, she seemed to wolf the milk down.  Then we left her with my parents a couple of times in her 3rd month, and while she wasn’t completely happy about feeding from the bottle, she did it.  A few weeks ago we tried feeding expressed milk with the bottle again, but this time there was much unhappiness, frustration and many tears. 

Since then we have tried to persist with the bottle every one to two days, different teats, warming up the milk, warming up the teat, different person doing the feeding, and first thing in the morning without having seen me, but still not much luck.  Often she will suck a bit, but then spit the milk back out… fussy little girl! 

Possibly she took a little more this morning… fingers crossed we will get there in the end.  Otherwise, does not bode well for transitioning to formula at 6 months as I had intended.

If you are breast feeding, I definitely recommend regularly mixing things up with a bottle as soon as possible, once you are comfortable with the breast feeding.  Just gives you a bit of extra flexibility.

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. caspette
    Jan 25, 2011 @ 22:34:15

    This happened to us too. I have read the problem is basically the bottle teat really isnt much like the boob and the sucking motion is very different.

    We gave up on the bottle in the end and just moved on to sippy cups and had great success once we reach 6 months. Gradually he is drinking more and more in each go but its not so bad now because he is on “solids” anyway.

    Reply

  2. Anjin
    Jan 29, 2011 @ 08:24:35

    I’ve heard some bottle nipples offer a baby a similar experience to sucking on the breast (I can only think of some of the Avent bottles off the top of my head) and those have been recommended to me by my lactation consultant. Of course, I haven’t gotten that far yet in the process to know if that will help with the transition. Like you, my intention is to breast feed but I do want to introduce the bottle eventually (my doctor, midwife and lactation consultant recommend waiting at least four weeks) so that my husband can help out with feedings too.

    I really hope to be able to pump, but many of your concerns are ones I have too. Will I produce enough milk? When and how often do I pump? Hopefully my lactation consultant will be able to help me through it, but only time will tell.

    Reply

    • caspette
      Jan 29, 2011 @ 17:19:14

      Anjin – When and how to breast pump is a up to you sort of arrangement. I know women who would breast feed for one feed then pump the next. I know others who would pump after a breast feed. I personally produced heaps of milk at the start (so much that I was constantly leaking. Was a little embarrising actually walking around the house dripping) that I just fed my son off one boob and pumped the other (then alternated next time). Im scared I would have exploded otherwise.

      I too was worried about not producing enough milk but I was lucky and did.There are things you can do to improve your supply like diet and even drugs but just wait and see how you go.

      I highly recommend at the start, alternating between breast feed and express milk feed in the first few weeks. Your boobs are going to hurt A LOT. Even if your doing it right, those puppies are gonna cain. I would pump a small supply so every second day when they were at their worst I could take a break and bottle feed.

      But I know other mummies who swear by nipple shields, and others just soldier through. It’s up to you.

      Good luck!

      Reply

    • Gayle
      Jan 30, 2011 @ 23:45:43

      When it comes to expressing I think the key is to be consistent. I was too lazy to do it regularly, but if you do, in most cases your breasts adjust and you shouldn’t have any problems with producing enough breast milk. A friend who was expressing so that her husband could do one or two feeds a day said that after the first feed in the morning, or after the last feed of the day were the best times to express.

      Reply

  3. Literary Feline
    Jan 29, 2011 @ 08:26:57

    Oops! Anjin in this case being Literary Feline (Wendy). I’m stuck using my husband’s computer since mine was stolen and forgot to change the e-mail and url address that automatically populated when commenting. In case you’re wondering why a man is talking about breastfeeding. LOL

    Reply

Leave a Reply

