“wee wee wee”

The inevitable cry comes from down the hallway. This time it’s been a week. Sometimes we manage two weeks, once or twice it’s been a month. Tonight it was my fault, I forgot. I feel terrible, she gets so upset even though we don’t make a big deal out of it.

Bedwetting. It’s just one of those things. Some kids never wet the bed. Others have their parents convinced they will be graduating college in nappies. Some kids are fine as long as they go to the bathroom and limit fluids for around an hour before going to bed. Other kids seem to have “off” and “on” periods.

Did you know that genetics can play Into bed wetting? If you were a bed wetter, chances are good that your child will be, at least at some stage.

Mattress protectors, plastic sheets, late night toilet trips (parent initiated) and the ritual of changing sheets in the dark have become part of our lives over the last two years. Occasionally I feel frustrated that my nearly 4 year old still has these night time accidents, but reality?

It doesn’t last forever.

It’s not like 4 is the new 14. Or so I tell myself as I start the washing machine, and get her into the shower. Again.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Literary Feline
    Jan 01, 2011 @ 09:53:17

    I imagine it’s quite embarrassing for your daughter, no matter how normal. I think handling it the way you do is the best you can do for her. I hadn’t realized it was genetic–that’s interesting. Neither my husband nor I remember whether we were or not.

    Reply

  2. caspette
    Jan 02, 2011 @ 17:27:52

    That is interesting about the genetic link. I know I didn’t really do it. Though I do remember vividly one time during a sleep over at my cousins place wetting the bed. I think I was about 8ish. But I was so suprised I seriously thought their roof had sprung a leak (it was Christmas and we were sleeping in the living room in front of the fire, there was a cold snap that year lol). Then when i realised the only logical explaination was me wetting the bed (or sleeping bag) I was so horrified. Of course my understanding cousin and sister ribbed me mercilously. Other then that I cant remember wetting the bed so hopefully that bodes well for when we cross that bridge.

    Reply

  3. Trackback: I don’t know who thought it might be a good idea to collaborate with me! « Nearly Not Quite
  4. Gayle
    Jan 07, 2011 @ 12:16:35

    A friend gave me a good tip recently. If your child or baby is wetting the bed or (in our case) vomiting in bed and you are having to change sheets at all hours of the night, put several repeated layers of mattress protectors/plastic sheets and bedding on the mattress so that it is just a matter of whipping off one layer in the middle of the night.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

