Holiday Traditions

The Christmas holidays always make me feel a bit nostalgic.  It’s been a few years since I last was able to get to together with family for Christmas Day.  Between work schedules and travel distance, my husband and I have settled for a quiet holiday with just the two of us.  Next year will be different though.  It won’t just be my husband and me.  We’ll have our little girl, and, while she’ll still be too young to take an active part in the festivities, I know I want it to be a special time for her as it was for me when I was a child.  I don’t know whether we will be traveling–I doubt it; at least not next year–or whether relatives will come to us.  Only time will tell.

What I do know is that there are a few holiday traditions I am looking forward to sharing with my daughter one day.  Maybe not next year, when she’s still too young, but someday.  Perhaps we can build such happy memories around those rituals that they will carry over into her adulthood.  Whether it be decorating the Christmas tree, setting up the manger, baking Christmas cookies or writing thank you cards . . .

What are some of the family traditions you have shared with your child over the years?  Or would like to one day when your child is old enough?

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. caspette
    Dec 25, 2010 @ 00:38:39

    My family never really had traditional things. I guess hanging the decorations was always a big deal.

    Tonight actually I started a tradition of viewing the Christmas lights around our suburb. It was wonderful walking around, everyone was so friendly and chatty. There was some nice displays too.

    Not sure what traditions I want to pass on or start. Spending Christmas day with family though would be the main one.

    Merry Christmas!

    Reply

  2. Trackback: The Santa Cause « toyboxtales
  3. Literary Feline
    Jan 01, 2011 @ 09:58:26

    That’s a great tradition to start, Caspette! My husband and I like to do that, take a tour of the lights and displays. We don’t manage it every year unfortunately. Definitely one to keep in mind for when my little girl is here.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

